Capture

Gratitude List 03/05/2018

Nowadays, you can capture a view or record an event on your phone and reflect on them at a later date. But nothing is quite like the real thing and by capturing these precious moments we are missing the reason we’re reaching for our phone in the first place.

Yesterday evening I was experiencing a moment with my daughter, a moment that modern technology can’t record, a spiritual moment – love. Yet, what did I do? I reached for my phone and started to write about that moment! Crazy! Thankfully I quickly realised what I was going to miss and put my phone down. As a result, I had such a strong connection, I really felt my daughter hugging my arm and resting her head on my shoulder. I felt the connection. I felt her love. So much so, as I stood on a busy tube this morning, I closed my eyes and I was back there again. I could feel that hug. It brought a smile to my face and even a little tear to my eye. Now that’s how to reflect, no need for a photo or a video or a blog at that particular moment. So, today I am grateful for……

My daughter hugging my arm.

Her head resting on my shoulder.

The fact I out my phone down.

The love I felt for her.

The love I felt in return.

The connection we had.

Her warmth.

Her little giggles whilst we watched The Simpsons.

Her happiness. I could feel her enjoying the moment too.

Her rosy cheeks.

The fact she recognised my presence. Although this is quite sad that it was noticeable.