Just for today, I will do two things I don’t want to do…. just for exercise

Just for today, I will do two things I don’t want to do…. just for exercise.’

An intuitive thought that came to mind when I approached the tall, climbing escalator at Old Street Underground Station. I REALLY didn’t want to but I mustered up the motivation and pushed upwards.

On the street, just minutes later, I found myself stuck behind a leisurely walker. Again, I didn’t want to but I followed patiently behind them.

With two unwanted acts completed, the thought remained prominent in my mind. I began a list, the momentum grew as one thing led to another, and within an hour I had done more than a dozen things I didn’t want to do – differing from meditation to simply taking the time to wash my hands thoroughly. They say practice makes perfect and the progression was clear. I continued to practice and as I did, the things I didn’t want to do slowly but surely became easier to do. After a flurry of ‘didn’t want tos’ in the first couple of hours, it slowed down to just one thing here or there. It’s hard to explain, because I was still experiencing things I would normally not want to do, yet I didn’t mind doing them. I even began to question whether or not I really ‘didn’t want to do them’!

I walked up every escalator today.

Author: gratitude4gratitude

A relative newbie to gratitude. Starting each day with a gratitude list sets me up for the day. This small effort starts a domino effect of positive action and subsequent serenity.

Leave a comment