Gratitude List 05/02/2019: The Simple Things

Gratitude List 05/02/2019

When recovery becomes such a big part of one’s life, its hard not to include it within a gratitude list. Well it is for me. Today I will express in words the simple things I should be grateful for on a daily basis.

Today I am grateful for my living body – my beating heart, functioning organs, pumping blood, breathing lungs and active brain.

Today I am grateful for senses – my sight, touch, smell, taste and my hearing.

Today I am grateful for the possibilities, opportunities, choices and my abilities and freedom to take advantage of them.

Today I am grateful I can be at peace and sleep well. (the one question I answered ‘no’ to)

Today I am grateful for the food in the cupboards and the water I have on tap.

Today I am grateful for my job – the income, the security, the knowledge, the skills and the camaraderie.

Today I am grateful for my home sweet home – my dry bed, the hearing, the hot water, the comfort, the memories.

Today I am grateful for the people I have in my life – my children, my girlfriend, my family, my friends, my colleagues, the bus driver and the people I pass on the street.

Today I am grateful for my upbringing – my education, the love, the support, the guidance, the safety, the memories.

Today I am grateful for my life and the lessons its taught me so far.

Today I am grateful for my characteristics, in particular honesty, tolerance, consideration, selflessness and unity.

Today I am grateful for my emotions – in particular love, forgiveness, empathy, serenity and happiness.

Today I am grateful for my greater powers – their support, their guidance, their direction, their strength, their power, my open-mindedness, my willingness, my belief, my faith.

Today I am grateful for life. An absolute miracle that surrounds me and my world.

I could go on and on….. And yes, without recovery I wouldn’t have acknowledged any of this. So recovery has made it again! 😉